Skip to main content


Showing posts from July, 2019

Installing Dropbox on Mageia7

Dropbox is a commercial cloud-based online file storage service. A Basic account provides 2GB of space at no charge. To begin installing Dropbox, go to their website and create an account.

Step 1. On your computer, install the Dropbox package.

$ sudo urpmi dropbox
This installs the Dopbox files and installs wget (if not already installed).

Step 2. Begin the Dropbox installation by downloading and installing the proprietary daemon.

$ dropbox start -i
After the daemon downloads, Dropbox will open a web browser to the Dropbox login page.

Step 3. Using your account information, you may log in. Dropbox will now take you to your personal Dropbox page and create the directory ~/Dropbox on your computer and open your file manager to that directory. Now, close all the open Dropbox windows.

Step 4. Make Dropbox run automatically when you log in.

$ dropbox autostart y

If you don't want it to run automatically, you can use the start and stop commands from the command line.

Setting Options
Use the Dr…

Upgrade Mageia 6 to Mageia7

Back in the early days of Linux, the changes to the operating system were so dramatic that even when updating withing the same distro, in-place point release updates were problematic enough and it was always recommended that a major version release be done from scratch. There were just too many major changes to the underlying subsystems and package naming conventions. Doing an in-place update was just asking for trouble.

Modern distros have matured quite a bit even though there are occasionally some major subsystem changes being made. Yet it's never been easier to do an in-place major version upgrade.

I just did the upgrade on several Mageia6 systems and the results were consistent and satisfactory, not to mention simple.

Step 0. Always backup critical information. Have a Mageia7 recovery disc on hand. You can download the ISO image from here.

Read the Release Notes, the Documentation and the Errata for Mageia 7. Other than updated applications, the biggest changes are support fo…